CD cover to Marching On!

Hardtack & Homespun

Marching On!

Civil Wars Songs and Music
from the
North and South

The CD Marching On! accompanies the entertaining and definitive book Marching On! John Brown's Ghost from the Civil War to Civil Rights, by Robert Allen, available from NNP Publishing.

Now: John Brown's Body Home Page

NNP Publishing
21 East Street
Northfield, Vermont 05663

Icon of Marching On! CD
  1. Amazing Grace
  2. Blow Ye the Trumpet, Blow
  3. Lincoln and Liberty
  4. Dixie / Bonnie Blue Flag
  5. John Brown’s Body
  6. E Pluribus Unum
  7. Hardtack, Come Again No More
  8. The Homespun Dress
  9. Lorena
  10. Weeping Sad and Lonely / Scarlett’s Waltz
  11. The Vermont Volunteers
  12. We Wait Beneath the Furnace Blast
  13. Kingdom Coming
  14. Song of a Thousand Years
  15. Battle Hymn of the Republic
  16. The Rebel Soldier
  17. The Blue and the Gray
  • Robert W. Allen
         piano: 1-4, 7-17; bodhran, 16
  • Bob Small
         vocals: 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11-12, 14-17; spoons: 7, 13
  • Susan Reid
         vocals: 1-3, 5-8, 10-12, 14-15; violin: 9-10, 13, 16; guitar: 5
  • Claire Manfredonia
         vocals: 12, 14-15; recorder: 1, 3, 10-11, 13, 16-17
  • Priscilla Farnham
         vocals: 1-3, 7-12, 14-15
  • Scott Paulsen
         snare drum: 11

CD cover to Marching On!

The music group Hardtack & Homespun performs a wide variety of music from the Civil War era. They present songs of both the Union and Confederacy, as well as dance music and instrumentals of the period. They specialize in songs of emancipation. Songs arranged for piano, voice, recorder, and violin are performed with energy and appreciation for the historical context of the music.

Recorded at the Roxbury United Church of Christ, Roxbury, Vermont, on February 8 and March 8 and 15, 1998
Musical Direction: Robert W. Allen
Recording Engineer: David Gunn
Editing and Mastering: Dennis Báthory-Kitsz
Design and Artwork: The Transitive Empire

A MaltedMedia site.